The museum was founded in 1968 on the place of the former Dmitrievskiy monastery, the oldest one in Suzdal. The wooden constructions from all over the Vladimir region were brought to the museum. Noteworthy that all buildings are actual constructions that people lived and worked in. Thus, a typical village with all the features of ancient Russian settlement was reconstituted on the left bank of the Kamenka River.
The first building brought to the Museum was the Church of the Transfiguration dated the middle of the XVIII century, which was previously located in the village of Kozlyatyev.
The second building brought to the museum was the Church of the Resurrection from the village Patakino dated 1756. The two churches form an ensemble, which was common in Russia and is called a summer and winter church. The winter church, Church of the Transfiguration, was constructed from pine and by using nothing but an axe.
Church of the Resurrection, is intended for summer use, because it is not heated and doesn’t hold winter services.
Apart from the churches there are typical houses of peasants, wells, mills and barns in the museum.
Today the museum of Wooden Architecture is a venue for various Suzdal festivals. It has become a tradition that the festival of folk crafts takes place in the museum on the Trinity day. During the festival visitors can see and buy famous local handicrafts, such as wood carving, painted wooden toys, weaving, clay toys, etc. Other well-known festival of Suzdal – the Cucumber festival – also is held in the museum. See Suzdal Events for detailed information.